Welcome to the RSCDS Banffshire Branch

The Bow-fiddle rock at Portknockie - an iconic Banffshire landmark

The Banffshire Branch encourages Scottish Country Dancing throughout the historic county of Banffshire, and its surrounding area of North East Scotland. We have over 35 Members, including about a dozen RSCDS-Certified teachers who teach locally, nationally and internationally.

The Branch traditionally holds an annual Dance on the second Friday in November. There are also day schools, festival participations, special demonstrations and helping local schools with Scottish Country Dancing. In addition, many of the local class groups organise their own 'end of term' and/or annual dance and welcome other dancers to join in.


Originally formed as the Buckie and District Scottish Country Dance Society at a Public Meeting in Buckie on Monday 9th September 1929, the title was changed to the Banffshire Branch at the first Annual General Meeting.

Those initial classes in Buckie soon spread when our first Dance Teacher, Mr. John Duncan, accompanied by Miss Nen Watson and Mrs. Jean Mair, taught classes at Forglen, Marnoch and Cornhill.

This tradition has continued for the past 80 plus years. We welcome new members of all ages and abilities.

Annual subscriptions for RSCDS HQ and the Branch
for the year 1st July 2016 - 30th June 2017

As agreed at RSCDS AGM 2015, there will be an increase in the basic full annual membership. The range of subscriptions available is as follows:

Adult single (Age 25+) HQ Sub £20   Branch Sub £2.00 TOTAL £22
Adult joint (2 @ Age 25+) HQ Sub £32   Branch Sub £4.00 TOTAL £36 (same address and Branch)
Young Adult (Age 18-24) HQ Sub £16   Branch Sub £1.00 TOTAL £17
Youth (Age 12-17) HQ Sub £10   Branch Sub £1.00 TOTAL £11
Adult single HQ Sub £10   Branch Sub £1.00 TOTAL £11 (half year - new members only)

Committee officers 2016/2017

Title Name Contact
Chairman Isobel Turner 01542 834398
Secretary Anne Taylor 01542 831007
Treasurer Bob Taylor 01542 831007

Emails you send to info@ and enquiries@ will go to Anne, and emails for update/correction of the website can be sent to Anne or webmaster@.